fbpx

09 December 2015

Wednesday 9 December 2015

We are delighted to officially launch our Getting Ready Dance Programme that will see 10 youth organisations from 10 different boroughs work with us to deliver culture education for young people across the capital.

Working with a New Direction, through Arts Council funding the 10 youth organisations will contribute towards the Cultural Education Challenge agenda using dance as the platform to involve young Londoners.  Our programme combines a broad range of opportunities (weekly sessions, masterclasses, residentials, training and performance) alongside our key principle that good youth work works.

Debbie Moore OBE, Founder of Pineapple who have been supporting us on this journey, commented:

“We are delighted to support the Getting Ready Dance programme as a lead partner through our Pineapple Community dance project. Our mission at Pineapple is to make dance accessible to all; Getting Ready Dance will be a vital partnership to help us support and encourage the next generation of those who wish to dance in London”

Zoe Mellis, Head of Sport Development added:

“We’ve developed a really effective model to give young people the chance get active through youth clubs, when they have not previously been interested in doing sport. So using the same approach, we’re really excited to be working with a number of great dance partners to bring opportunities to young people who might otherwise miss out. We are aiming to leave a strong legacy of partnerships within communities across London, so that young people from all backgrounds can get involved in dance now and into the future."

 

Check out the 10 organisations working with us on Getting Ready Dance:

1.       Action on Disability: Hammersmith and Fulham: www.actionondisability.org.uk / @ActiononD

2.       Bring the Change: Westminster: www.bringthechange.co.uk / @BringTheChange_

3.       Hackney Quest: Hackney: www.hackneyquest.org.uk / @HackneyQuest

4.       Hounslow Youth Centre (The Voice): Hounslow: www.hounslow.gov.uk / @LBofHounslow

5.       Mitcham Town Community Trust: Merton: www.mtct.co.uk / @_MTCT

6.       Movement Factory: Southwark: www.themovementfactory.uk.com / @Movementfactory

7.       Shpresa Programme: Newham: www.shpresaprogramme.com /  @ShpresaPrograme

8.       Studio 3 Arts: Barking and Dagenham: www.studio3arts.org.uk / @studio3arts

9.       Streatham Youth and Community Trust: Lambeth: www.syct.org.uk / @StreathamSYCT

10.      Wac Arts: Camden: www.wacarts.co.uk / @WacArts

 

For further information about Getting Ready Dance and/or to discuss how you could get involved, please contact one of London Youth’s Sport Development Officers:

Andrew Staples: andrew.staples@londonyouth.org.uk / 07736 619 609 / @andystap

Jas Hothi: jas.hothi@londonyouth.org.uk / 07736 619 603 / @_jashothi

John Jones: john.jones@londonyouth.org.uk / 07736 619 595 / @JustJohnJones